Tags

, ,

I never thought it would happen to me. Someone broke into my home and ran off with many priceless possessions. Sure, the items had a monetary value, but to me they were priceless. Much of what was stolen was left to me by my mother who has now passed.

My mother loved her Royal Doulton China set. I was a young girl in the 1960’s when she bought her first set. It was so beautiful, the craftsmanship was stupendous and you could feel the quality. “We will only use these for special parties” she told me. My mother was very social and we had many gatherings at the home. We did not always use the Royal Doulton set though; many times she just showed it off to her friends.

Now those memories are shattered because those plates are gone. And I was saddened to think that my upscale neighborhood in Alexandria, Va had become so unsafe. I then thought about my daughters ex-boyfriend(who I never liked!). I remember asking my daughter if she was absolutely sure he did not have a key to the house. She insisted he did not have a key, but I later learned he did.

There were no signs of a break in; therefore the police suspected it had to be someone who previously had a key. I mentioned my suspicions of the ex-boyfriend.

It did not take the police long to find the China set. The ex-boyfriend was surprised the police came to his door so soon. He never was the brightest bulb in the bunch, I could never understand what my daughter saw in him. He knew it was valuable and was planning on selling it, but instead of going straight to a pawn shop, he decided to go home and do some drinking. My china set was recovered but a couple plates received some damage.

I learned my lesson. If you are not sure whether or not someone has a copy of your house key, go ahead and rekey the house. Save yourself the trouble and hassle of dealing with a possible break in. Not everyone will be as lucky as I and honestly I was only lucky because the ex-boyfriend was quite stupid.

